Quantcast

Friday Football Fever Preview Special - KTBS.com - Shreveport, LA News, Weather and Sports

Friday Football Fever Preview Special

Posted: Updated:
SHREVEPORT, La -

We kick Friday Football Fever off a week early with our one hour high school football preview special.  During the hour we preview teams from Louisiana, Texas and Arkansas and dive in to the controversial split between "select" and "non-select" schools in the state of Louisiana.

Former LHSAA Commissioner Tommy Henry has some strong words against the split, calling it "segregation."  We also hear from coaches on both sides of the issue.

  • KTBS 3 InvestigatesMore>>

  • KTBS 3 Investigation finds low levels of chlorine in Shreveport's public pools

    KTBS 3 Investigation finds low levels of chlorine in Shreveport's public pools

    Sunday, July 27 2014 10:00 PM EDT2014-07-28 02:00:13 GMT
    National data from the CDC reveals one in eight pool inspections found serious violations that threatened public health and safety and resulted in immediate closure. Pretty gross, right? 
    National data from the CDC reveals one in eight pool inspections found serious violations that threatened public health and safety and resulted in immediate closure. Pretty gross, right? 
  • Overton Brooks' Patient's appointment cancellation causes concern

    Overton Brooks' Patient's appointment cancellation causes concern

    Friday, July 11 2014 2:28 PM EDT2014-07-11 18:28:29 GMT
    We've been told by many veterans that they receive quality care at the V.A. hospital in Shreveport. But for some getting an appointment to see their caregivers is the challenge. According to our V.A., they do not have a problem getting patients seen quickly - and the numbers they report echo that conclusion. We’ve uncovered concerns, however, over how their numbers look so good - while patients are still waiting to be seen.“Certainly from my viewpoint here, as a veteran, as a physician, the c...
    We've been told by many veterans that they receive quality care at the V.A. hospital in Shreveport. But for some getting an appointment to see their caregivers is the challenge. According to our V.A., they do not have a problem getting patients seen quickly - and the numbers they report echo that conclusion. We’ve uncovered concerns, however, over how their numbers look so good - while patients are still waiting to be seen.“Certainly from my viewpoint here, as a veteran, as a physician, the c...
  • Overton Brooks Patient says V.A. is lying about access to care

    Overton Brooks Patient says V.A. is lying about access to care

    Friday, July 11 2014 2:14 PM EDT2014-07-11 18:14:50 GMT
    So far we've brought you a whistle blower employee, and then, after two weeks of waiting, you heard the official V.A. response. But it's said that there are three sides to every story.“We're not challenged for access at Overton Brooks, we can provide same day access, that's why we're encouraging same day access, that's why we're encouraging veterans to enroll into our system.” Those are the words from Interim Director at Overton Brooks V.A. Medical Center, Toby Mathew, during the news confere...
    So far we've brought you a whistle blower employee, and then, after two weeks of waiting, you heard the official V.A. response. But it's said that there are three sides to every story.“We're not challenged for access at Overton Brooks, we can provide same day access, that's why we're encouraging same day access, that's why we're encouraging veterans to enroll into our system.” Those are the words from Interim Director at Overton Brooks V.A. Medical Center, Toby Mathew, during the news confere...
  • ArkLaTex SlideshowsMore>>

  • ArkLaTex Adoptable Pets

    ArkLaTex Adoptable Pets

    Monday, July 28 2014 10:51 AM EDT2014-07-28 14:51:53 GMT
    There are lots of animals in the Ark-La-Tex who are looking for that perfect home.
    There are lots of animals in the Ark-La-Tex who are looking for that perfect home.
  • Bossier's 30th Young Marines class graduates

    Bossier's 30th Young Marines class graduates

    Monday, July 28 2014 8:33 AM EDT2014-07-28 12:33:50 GMT
    Photo courtesy Allen J.M. Smith, BPSOPhoto courtesy Allen J.M. Smith, BPSO
    Twenty-nine recruits ranging from eight years old to teen years earned the title as Bossier Sheriff's Young Marines as Class 30 graduated in front of a packed house of 200 people Friday night at the Bossier Sheriff's Substation in Bossier City.
    Twenty-nine recruits ranging from eight years old to teen years earned the title as Bossier Sheriff's Young Marines as Class 30 graduated in front of a packed house of 200 people Friday night at the Bossier Sheriff's Substation in Bossier City.
  • KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home opens for public tours

    KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home opens for public tours

    Friday, July 25 2014 9:24 AM EDT2014-07-25 13:24:04 GMT
    KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home photos courtesy of Courtney Avery.KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home photos courtesy of Courtney Avery.
    The 2014 KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home is now open for weekend tours.
    The 2014 KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home is now open for weekend tours.
  • Assignment EducationMore>>

  • Do your part & help "Stuff the Bus"

    Do your part & help "Stuff the Bus"

    Wednesday, July 30 2014 7:33 AM EDT2014-07-30 11:33:12 GMT
    Your generous donations continue to roll in for our Operation A+ Stuff the Bus campaign.Today the bus, which we plan to stuff with much needed school supplies, will be parked at Whataburger on Bert Kouns near Youree Drive from 9am-3pm.
    Your generous donations continue to roll in for our Operation A+ Stuff the Bus campaign.Today the bus, which we plan to stuff with much needed school supplies, will be parked at Whataburger on Bert Kouns near Youree Drive from 9am-3pm.
  • School bus safety

    School bus safety

    Tuesday, July 29 2014 11:28 PM EDT2014-07-30 03:28:19 GMT

    National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says riding a bus to school is 13 times safer than riding in a passenger vehicle and 10 times safer than walking to school.

    National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says riding a bus to school is 13 times safer than riding in a passenger vehicle and 10 times safer than walking to school.

  • BESE votes to join lawsuit challenging Jindal

    BESE votes to join lawsuit challenging Jindal

    Tuesday, July 29 2014 1:51 PM EDT2014-07-29 17:51:34 GMT
    Louisiana's state school board has voted to join a lawsuit filed to challenge Gov. Bobby Jindal's efforts to block implementation of the Common Core education standards.
    Louisiana's state school board has voted to join a lawsuit filed to challenge Gov. Bobby Jindal's efforts to block implementation of the Common Core education standards.
  • NationalMore>>

  • Pipe break that flooded UCLA dumps 20M gallons

    Pipe break that flooded UCLA dumps 20M gallons

    Wednesday, July 30 2014 7:19 PM EDT2014-07-30 23:19:35 GMT
    The quiet summer campus of UCLA found itself suddenly steeped in water and chaos after a major water pipe burst and spewed some eight million gallons, stranding people in parking garages and flooding the...
    Authorities say a pipe break that flooded UCLA's famed Pauley Pavilion has now released 20 million gallons of water and continues to gush.
  • Sheriff: Baby left in van outside doctor's office

    Sheriff: Baby left in van outside doctor's office

    Wednesday, July 30 2014 7:17 PM EDT2014-07-30 23:17:41 GMT
    A doctor and nurses went to the aid of a 2-month-old baby girl after a Florida mom left the infant in a hot minivan outside a pediatrician's office for about an hour, authorities say.
    A doctor and nurses went to the aid of a 2-month-old baby girl after a Florida mom left the infant in a hot minivan outside a pediatrician's office for about an hour, authorities say.
  • Key witness testifies in ex-governor's trial

    Key witness testifies in ex-governor's trial

    Wednesday, July 30 2014 7:17 PM EDT2014-07-30 23:17:40 GMT
    The assistant to the wealthy businessman at the center of the corruption case against ex-Virginia Gov. Bob McDonnell has testified about arranging trips for the former first family.
    Curing his wife's thyroid disease. Connections in the high-end fashion world. Learjet flights for politicians.
Section is sponsored by:
  • KTBS 3 News Tips

    Send your news tip or story idea to the KTBS 3 Newsroom.  Enter your email address below to get started.

    * denotes required fields
    We're sorry, but only one entry is allowed per person.
    Thank you for your continued interest.

    Thank you for your submission to KTBS 3 News.  A member of our staff may contact you for more information.

  • SportsMore>>

  • Athlete of the Week: Kaden Amidon

    Athlete of the Week: Kaden Amidon

    Wednesday, July 30 2014 5:51 PM EDT2014-07-30 21:51:26 GMT
    While a day in the pool may be relaxing for some, it has a whole different meaning for Athlete of the Week Kaden Amidon. 
    While a day in the pool may be relaxing for some, it has a whole different meaning for Athlete of the Week Kaden Amidon. 
  • Option quarterback; Calvary's Shea Patterson de-commits to enjoy recruiting process more

    Option quarterback; Calvary's Shea Patterson de-commits to keep options open

    Option quarterback; Calvary's Shea Patterson de-commits to keep options open

    Tuesday, July 29 2014 10:31 PM EDT2014-07-30 02:31:48 GMT
    Calvary quarterback Shea Patterson can now enter summer conditioning with an open mind. The Cavalier junior de-commited from Arizona Monday after calling up head coach Rich Rodriguez and alerting him of his decision.
    Calvary quarterback Shea Patterson can now enter summer conditioning with an open mind. The Cavalier junior de-commited from Arizona Monday after calling up head coach Rich Rodriguez and alerting him of his decision.
  • Romo finally well-protected; skips full pad practice

    Romo finally well-protected; skips full pad practice

    Tuesday, July 29 2014 10:30 PM EDT2014-07-30 02:30:16 GMT
    The Dallas Cowboys are taking it easy with Tony Romo's back.Romo sat out a competitive practice for the first time at training camp Tuesday, although coach Jason Garrett said it wasn't because of any setbacks from surgery for a herniated disk in late December.
    The Dallas Cowboys are taking it easy with Tony Romo's back.Romo sat out a competitive practice for the first time at training camp Tuesday, although coach Jason Garrett said it wasn't because of any setbacks from surgery for a herniated disk in late December.
Share Your Images
Powered by WorldNow
    Powered by WorldNow
    All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KTBS. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
    Advertising | EEO Public File | KTBS 3 Public File | KPXJ 21 Public File