Quantcast

City Looking to Address Recycling Complaints in Shreveport - KTBS.com - Shreveport, LA News, Weather and Sports

City Looking to Address Recycling Complaints in Shreveport

Posted: Updated:
SHREVEPORT, La -

People all over the city of Shreveport are complaining that their recycling isn't being picked up. Some say it's days late while others say they go weeks without having their cans emptied.

Pratt is the company that has the recycling contract with the city. But Pratt has hired Republic, or Allied Waste, the same company that now has the Bossier City trash contract, to pick up Shreveport's recycling. And for months, recyclers here in Shreveport say, they're not happy with the service.

Debra Alexander has been recycling for at least four years now. She said, "They don't show up... They might show up the next day... they might show up next week... or the might show up in 2 weeks." She says it's been so inconsistent that she has no idea what to expect. "Our cans are always sitting out because we don't know if we should put them up, or leave them out because they're coming the next day."
And she's not the only one. Michael Corbin is the city council's chairman. And his recycling isn't picked up regularly either.

"Last week they were picked up on Wednesday morning, this week they were picked up on Tuesday morning so there's no part of town and nobody who is left immune from this. We know that citizens are frustrated but we don't want them to get frustrated so much that they don't want to participate in the program." Corbin says it's important that the problem is fixed, quickly. So they've called Pratt Industries and Republic to the next city council meeting to come up with a solution to get the job done. Corbin said, the process should be cut and dry. "People put their blue bin out, and the trucks go down every street and pick up every blue bin, and the citizens need to know what day that's going to happen."
Debra says, she believes in recycling and isn't thinking about giving up on staying green, but she just wish there was consistency. "It would just be nice for them to do the business with some integrity."

We reached out to Republic or Allied Waste Services about the issues.

Roy Walters, their General Manager, sent us this statement addressing the concerns.

"Our company is diligently working to resolve collection issues that some residents are experiencing with recycle service.  Current City Ordinance requires that recycle collection must occur on the same day as garbage collection; this has created a substantial imbalance in routing our equipment and work force as volume collected on specific days varies significantly.  In an effort to keep the cost of recycle collection as affordable as possible for all involved, we are submitting a plan that would allow our company to balance the collection volumes to improve operational effectiveness and improve service delivery to all parts of the city.  We will correct any service failures as they occur, we ask for your patience as we work through these issues.

As I have stated before, we are very proud to serve the residents of Shreveport and our daily goal is 100% satisfaction.  We do make mistakes and we respond to these issues as soon as we are notified that an issue exists.  It is very important that residents contact the Customer Call Center to notify us of service failures so that we may correct the issue and train our team accordingly."


Pratt and republic are scheduled to announce their plans for alleviating the problem in the next city council meeting on Tuesday, October 22nd.

 

  • News NowMore>>

  • Tax Free Weekend hits the ArkLaTex

    Tax Free Weekend hits the ArkLaTex

    Friday, August 1 2014 9:15 AM EDT2014-08-01 13:15:42 GMT
    It's back to school time and you know what that means, back to school shopping season is upon us. But there's some good news, this weekend is tax free shopping in our area.
    It's back to school time and you know what that means, back to school shopping season is upon us. But there's some good news, this weekend is tax free shopping in our area.
  • New Driving Laws for Louisiana Drivers

    New Driving Laws for Louisiana Drivers

    Friday, August 1 2014 7:30 AM EDT2014-08-01 11:30:30 GMT
    Beginning August 1st, 2014, numerous laws and amendments passed during the 2014 Louisiana Legislative Session will affect motorists throughout the state. Troopers would like to highlight several changes that both drivers and passengers should be aware of while operating a vehicle on Louisiana's roadways. Listed below are only a few notable changes affecting motorists; however, Troopers strongly urge citizens to familiarize themselves with all new laws, updates, and amendments coming into effe...
    Beginning August 1st, 2014, numerous laws and amendments passed during the 2014 Louisiana Legislative Session will affect motorists throughout the state. Troopers would like to highlight several changes that both drivers and passengers should be aware of while operating a vehicle on Louisiana's roadways. Listed below are only a few notable changes affecting motorists; however, Troopers strongly urge citizens to familiarize themselves with all new laws, updates, and amendments coming into effe...
  • Family of American with Ebola claim to be healthy

    Family of American with Ebola claim to be healthy

    Friday, August 1 2014 5:55 AM EDT2014-08-01 09:55:34 GMT
    The family of a Texas-trained doctor who contracted Ebola while working in Liberia has shown no symptoms of the deadly disease.
    The family of a Texas-trained doctor who contracted Ebola while working in Liberia has shown no symptoms of the deadly disease.
  • KTBS 3 InvestigatesMore>>

  • KTBS 3 Investigation finds low levels of chlorine in Shreveport's public pools

    KTBS 3 Investigation finds low levels of chlorine in Shreveport's public pools

    Sunday, July 27 2014 10:00 PM EDT2014-07-28 02:00:13 GMT
    National data from the CDC reveals one in eight pool inspections found serious violations that threatened public health and safety and resulted in immediate closure. Pretty gross, right? 
    National data from the CDC reveals one in eight pool inspections found serious violations that threatened public health and safety and resulted in immediate closure. Pretty gross, right? 
  • Overton Brooks' Patient's appointment cancellation causes concern

    Overton Brooks' Patient's appointment cancellation causes concern

    Friday, July 11 2014 2:28 PM EDT2014-07-11 18:28:29 GMT
    We've been told by many veterans that they receive quality care at the V.A. hospital in Shreveport. But for some getting an appointment to see their caregivers is the challenge. According to our V.A., they do not have a problem getting patients seen quickly - and the numbers they report echo that conclusion. We’ve uncovered concerns, however, over how their numbers look so good - while patients are still waiting to be seen.“Certainly from my viewpoint here, as a veteran, as a physician, the c...
    We've been told by many veterans that they receive quality care at the V.A. hospital in Shreveport. But for some getting an appointment to see their caregivers is the challenge. According to our V.A., they do not have a problem getting patients seen quickly - and the numbers they report echo that conclusion. We’ve uncovered concerns, however, over how their numbers look so good - while patients are still waiting to be seen.“Certainly from my viewpoint here, as a veteran, as a physician, the c...
  • Overton Brooks Patient says V.A. is lying about access to care

    Overton Brooks Patient says V.A. is lying about access to care

    Friday, July 11 2014 2:14 PM EDT2014-07-11 18:14:50 GMT
    So far we've brought you a whistle blower employee, and then, after two weeks of waiting, you heard the official V.A. response. But it's said that there are three sides to every story.“We're not challenged for access at Overton Brooks, we can provide same day access, that's why we're encouraging same day access, that's why we're encouraging veterans to enroll into our system.” Those are the words from Interim Director at Overton Brooks V.A. Medical Center, Toby Mathew, during the news confere...
    So far we've brought you a whistle blower employee, and then, after two weeks of waiting, you heard the official V.A. response. But it's said that there are three sides to every story.“We're not challenged for access at Overton Brooks, we can provide same day access, that's why we're encouraging same day access, that's why we're encouraging veterans to enroll into our system.” Those are the words from Interim Director at Overton Brooks V.A. Medical Center, Toby Mathew, during the news confere...
  • ArkLaTex SlideshowsMore>>

  • ArkLaTex Adoptable Pets

    ArkLaTex Adoptable Pets

    Friday, August 1 2014 9:16 AM EDT2014-08-01 13:16:04 GMT
    There are lots of animals in the Ark-La-Tex who are looking for that perfect home.
    There are lots of animals in the Ark-La-Tex who are looking for that perfect home.
  • Bossier's 30th Young Marines class graduates

    Bossier's 30th Young Marines class graduates

    Monday, July 28 2014 8:33 AM EDT2014-07-28 12:33:50 GMT
    Photo courtesy Allen J.M. Smith, BPSOPhoto courtesy Allen J.M. Smith, BPSO
    Twenty-nine recruits ranging from eight years old to teen years earned the title as Bossier Sheriff's Young Marines as Class 30 graduated in front of a packed house of 200 people Friday night at the Bossier Sheriff's Substation in Bossier City.
    Twenty-nine recruits ranging from eight years old to teen years earned the title as Bossier Sheriff's Young Marines as Class 30 graduated in front of a packed house of 200 people Friday night at the Bossier Sheriff's Substation in Bossier City.
  • KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home opens for public tours

    KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home opens for public tours

    Friday, July 25 2014 9:24 AM EDT2014-07-25 13:24:04 GMT
    KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home photos courtesy of Courtney Avery.KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home photos courtesy of Courtney Avery.
    The 2014 KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home is now open for weekend tours.
    The 2014 KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home is now open for weekend tours.
  • Assignment EducationMore>>

  • Tax Free Weekend hits the ArkLaTex

    Tax Free Weekend hits the ArkLaTex

    Friday, August 1 2014 9:15 AM EDT2014-08-01 13:15:42 GMT
    It's back to school time and you know what that means, back to school shopping season is upon us. But there's some good news, this weekend is tax free shopping in our area.
    It's back to school time and you know what that means, back to school shopping season is upon us. But there's some good news, this weekend is tax free shopping in our area.
  • More high school students earning college credit

    More high school students earning college credit

    Friday, August 1 2014 5:50 AM EDT2014-08-01 09:50:04 GMT
    Louisiana's high school seniors are making increased strides on Advanced Placement exams that are used to earn college credit.
    Louisiana's high school seniors are making increased strides on Advanced Placement exams that are used to earn college credit.
  • Word of God Ministries hosts Operation A+ Stuff the Bus campaign

    Word of God Ministries hosts Operation A+ Stuff the Bus campaign

    Thursday, July 31 2014 8:17 PM EDT2014-08-01 00:17:38 GMT
    Your generous donations continue to roll in for ourOperation A+ Stuff the Bus campaign. Today the bus was parked at Word of God Ministries at 6645 W. Bert Kouns from 9am-3pm.
    Your generous donations continue to roll in for ourOperation A+ Stuff the Bus campaign. Today the bus was parked at Word of God Ministries at 6645 W. Bert Kouns from 9am-3pm.
  • NationalMore>>

  • Last ex-city official sentenced in corruption case

    Last ex-city official sentenced in corruption case

    Friday, August 1 2014 6:33 PM EDT2014-08-01 22:33:13 GMT
    The last of seven former city officials involved in a vast corruption case in the tiny city of Bell, California, has been sentenced to a year in jail, most of which he has already served.
    The last of seven former city officials involved in a multimillion-dollar corruption case in the tiny Los Angeles suburb of Bell, California, was sentenced Friday to a year in jail, most of which he has already served.
  • 2 Ebola victims to be treated at Atlanta hospital

    2 Ebola victims to be treated at Atlanta hospital

    Friday, August 1 2014 6:33 PM EDT2014-08-01 22:33:07 GMT
    Federal officials say two American aid workers who contracted Ebola in Africa will be flown into a metro Atlanta military base.
    Two American aid workers infected with the Ebola virus in Africa will be treated at a specialized unit of an Atlanta hospital.
  • Utility to pay Tennessee coal ash victims $27.8M

    Utility to pay Tennessee coal ash victims $27.8M

    Friday, August 1 2014 6:33 PM EDT2014-08-01 22:33:00 GMT
    The nation's largest public utility has agreed to pay $27.8 million to settle claims from Tennessee property owners who suffered damages from a huge spill of toxin-laden coal ash sludge.
    The nation's largest public utility has agreed to pay $27.8 million to settle claims from Tennessee property owners who suffered damages from a huge, 2008 spill of toxin-laden coal ash sludge that drew national...
  • KTBS 3 News Tips

    Send your news tip or story idea to the KTBS 3 Newsroom.  Enter your email address below to get started.

    * denotes required fields
    We're sorry, but only one entry is allowed per person.
    Thank you for your continued interest.

    Thank you for your submission to KTBS 3 News.  A member of our staff may contact you for more information.

Share Your Images
Powered by WorldNow
    Powered by WorldNow
    All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KTBS. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
    Advertising | EEO Public File | KTBS 3 Public File | KPXJ 21 Public File