Quantcast

LA Board of Regents chair previews Shreveport visit - KTBS.com - Shreveport, LA News, Weather and Sports

LA Board of Regents chair previews Shreveport visit

Posted: Updated:
SHREVEPORT, La. -

The Louisiana Board of Regents is making a stop in Shreveport on Wednesday for the first time in nearly six years. 

It's a big week as all higher education institutions in the region will come together to meet with the board,  which determines much of what they can and cannot do.

The Board of Regents oversees all state-run higher education institutions in Louisiana.
 
Heading up the board is Shreveport native W. Clinton "Bubba" Raspberry.
 
LSU Health Sciences Center is hosting the board as they come to town, but higher ed schools from all over the area are invited to attend. 

"Each of the schools will have an opportunity to speak and will kind of update everybody," said Raspberry.
 
As far as LSUHSC is concerned, Dr. Robert Barish will address the board with any needs the medical school may have. 

Funding has been a hot topic since last year's $32 million budget deficit at the medical school. 

Raspberry said this will be addressed head on.

"We've been enduring less revenue for the past five years. I'm very hopeful that we will be at least where we were last year. I think there will be some positive news on tuition," said Raspberry.

And, that's not all. Raspberry is hopeful the budget for the medical school will grow.

"I have more energy and hope about the future of higher education today than I've had in the past five years," said Raspberry.
 
Dr. Phillip Rozeman with the Shreveport Medical Society believes the financial needs of the med school are critical.

"We're looking now at a point in time as what I see may be the bottom. We can't go much further down in cuts before there are significant ramifications, including the possibility of losing accreditation and all those things that we don't want to happen here," said Rozeman.

Nearly seven in 10 medical school graduates stay in this area to practice, even if they're from another state. 

Rozeman said this Wednesday will be a big opportunity for med school leaders to get their message across.

"It's very important that we are able to communicate to the Board of Regents the importance of the medical school to our community and the state as a whole. Most of the doctors in this state come from those two medical schools: the one in New Orleans and the one in Shreveport.
We also reached out to the medical school for a comment leading up to the Board of Regent's visit.
 
Chancellor Barish declined that request. 

We did hear back from state Rep. Roy Burrell though. The medical school is part of his district. 

"I am very much concerned about the medical school and whether or not there will be proper funding in the future," said Burrell. 

 

  • KTBS 3 InvestigatesMore>>

  • KTBS 3 Investigation finds low levels of chlorine in Shreveport's public pools

    KTBS 3 Investigation finds low levels of chlorine in Shreveport's public pools

    Sunday, July 27 2014 10:00 PM EDT2014-07-28 02:00:13 GMT
    National data from the CDC reveals one in eight pool inspections found serious violations that threatened public health and safety and resulted in immediate closure. Pretty gross, right? 
    National data from the CDC reveals one in eight pool inspections found serious violations that threatened public health and safety and resulted in immediate closure. Pretty gross, right? 
  • Overton Brooks' Patient's appointment cancellation causes concern

    Overton Brooks' Patient's appointment cancellation causes concern

    Friday, July 11 2014 2:28 PM EDT2014-07-11 18:28:29 GMT
    We've been told by many veterans that they receive quality care at the V.A. hospital in Shreveport. But for some getting an appointment to see their caregivers is the challenge. According to our V.A., they do not have a problem getting patients seen quickly - and the numbers they report echo that conclusion. We’ve uncovered concerns, however, over how their numbers look so good - while patients are still waiting to be seen.“Certainly from my viewpoint here, as a veteran, as a physician, the c...
    We've been told by many veterans that they receive quality care at the V.A. hospital in Shreveport. But for some getting an appointment to see their caregivers is the challenge. According to our V.A., they do not have a problem getting patients seen quickly - and the numbers they report echo that conclusion. We’ve uncovered concerns, however, over how their numbers look so good - while patients are still waiting to be seen.“Certainly from my viewpoint here, as a veteran, as a physician, the c...
  • Overton Brooks Patient says V.A. is lying about access to care

    Overton Brooks Patient says V.A. is lying about access to care

    Friday, July 11 2014 2:14 PM EDT2014-07-11 18:14:50 GMT
    So far we've brought you a whistle blower employee, and then, after two weeks of waiting, you heard the official V.A. response. But it's said that there are three sides to every story.“We're not challenged for access at Overton Brooks, we can provide same day access, that's why we're encouraging same day access, that's why we're encouraging veterans to enroll into our system.” Those are the words from Interim Director at Overton Brooks V.A. Medical Center, Toby Mathew, during the news confere...
    So far we've brought you a whistle blower employee, and then, after two weeks of waiting, you heard the official V.A. response. But it's said that there are three sides to every story.“We're not challenged for access at Overton Brooks, we can provide same day access, that's why we're encouraging same day access, that's why we're encouraging veterans to enroll into our system.” Those are the words from Interim Director at Overton Brooks V.A. Medical Center, Toby Mathew, during the news confere...
  • ArkLaTex SlideshowsMore>>

  • ArkLaTex Adoptable Pets

    ArkLaTex Adoptable Pets

    Monday, July 28 2014 10:51 AM EDT2014-07-28 14:51:53 GMT
    There are lots of animals in the Ark-La-Tex who are looking for that perfect home.
    There are lots of animals in the Ark-La-Tex who are looking for that perfect home.
  • Bossier's 30th Young Marines class graduates

    Bossier's 30th Young Marines class graduates

    Monday, July 28 2014 8:33 AM EDT2014-07-28 12:33:50 GMT
    Photo courtesy Allen J.M. Smith, BPSOPhoto courtesy Allen J.M. Smith, BPSO
    Twenty-nine recruits ranging from eight years old to teen years earned the title as Bossier Sheriff's Young Marines as Class 30 graduated in front of a packed house of 200 people Friday night at the Bossier Sheriff's Substation in Bossier City.
    Twenty-nine recruits ranging from eight years old to teen years earned the title as Bossier Sheriff's Young Marines as Class 30 graduated in front of a packed house of 200 people Friday night at the Bossier Sheriff's Substation in Bossier City.
  • KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home opens for public tours

    KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home opens for public tours

    Friday, July 25 2014 9:24 AM EDT2014-07-25 13:24:04 GMT
    KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home photos courtesy of Courtney Avery.KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home photos courtesy of Courtney Avery.
    The 2014 KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home is now open for weekend tours.
    The 2014 KTBS 3 St. Jude Dream Home is now open for weekend tours.
  • Assignment EducationMore>>

  • Do your part & help "Stuff the Bus"

    Do your part & help "Stuff the Bus"

    Wednesday, July 30 2014 7:33 AM EDT2014-07-30 11:33:12 GMT
    Your generous donations continue to roll in for our Operation A+ Stuff the Bus campaign.Today the bus, which we plan to stuff with much needed school supplies, will be parked at Whataburger on Bert Kouns near Youree Drive from 9am-3pm.
    Your generous donations continue to roll in for our Operation A+ Stuff the Bus campaign.Today the bus, which we plan to stuff with much needed school supplies, will be parked at Whataburger on Bert Kouns near Youree Drive from 9am-3pm.
  • School bus safety

    School bus safety

    Tuesday, July 29 2014 11:28 PM EDT2014-07-30 03:28:19 GMT

    National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says riding a bus to school is 13 times safer than riding in a passenger vehicle and 10 times safer than walking to school.

    National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says riding a bus to school is 13 times safer than riding in a passenger vehicle and 10 times safer than walking to school.

  • BESE votes to join lawsuit challenging Jindal

    BESE votes to join lawsuit challenging Jindal

    Tuesday, July 29 2014 1:51 PM EDT2014-07-29 17:51:34 GMT
    Louisiana's state school board has voted to join a lawsuit filed to challenge Gov. Bobby Jindal's efforts to block implementation of the Common Core education standards.
    Louisiana's state school board has voted to join a lawsuit filed to challenge Gov. Bobby Jindal's efforts to block implementation of the Common Core education standards.
  • NationalMore>>

  • 6 Philadelphia officers charged in corruption case

    6 Philadelphia officers charged in corruption case

    Wednesday, July 30 2014 5:19 PM EDT2014-07-30 21:19:43 GMT
    Six city narcotics officers used gangland tactics to shake down drug dealers, robbing them of large sums of cash and drugs for years, federal authorities charged in an indictment unsealed Wednesday.
    Six city narcotics officers used gangland tactics to shake down drug dealers, relying on guns, badges, beatings and threats to extort huge piles of cash and cocaine, federal authorities charged in an indictment Wednesday.
  • Key witness takes stand in ex-governor's trial

    Key witness takes stand in ex-governor's trial

    Wednesday, July 30 2014 4:57 PM EDT2014-07-30 20:57:32 GMT
    The assistant to the wealthy businessman at the center of the corruption case against ex-Virginia Gov. Bob McDonnell has testified about arranging trips for the former first family.
    The government's key witness in the corruption trial for former Virginia Gov. Bob McDonnell took the stand Wednesday under the cloak of immunity, and he was expected to lay out prosecutors' case in the gifts-for...
  • Colorado man dies when trailer collapses in wind

    Colorado man dies when trailer collapses in wind

    Wednesday, July 30 2014 4:57 PM EDT2014-07-30 20:57:30 GMT
    Northern Colorado got the brunt of heavy rains that flooded streets and stranded drivers up and down the Front Range.
    Heavy rain has brought much-needed moisture to Colorado's drought-stricken plains and has tested the recovery efforts in the foothill communities hit hard by flooding in September.
  • KTBS 3 News Tips

    Send your news tip or story idea to the KTBS 3 Newsroom.  Enter your email address below to get started.

    * denotes required fields
    We're sorry, but only one entry is allowed per person.
    Thank you for your continued interest.

    Thank you for your submission to KTBS 3 News.  A member of our staff may contact you for more information.

  • Local NewsMore>>

  • Whataburger hosts Operation A+ Stuff the Bus campaign

    Whataburger hosts Operation A+ Stuff the Bus campaign

    Wednesday, July 30 2014 5:10 PM EDT2014-07-30 21:10:15 GMT
    Your generous donations continue to roll in for our Operation A+ Stuff the Bus campaign. Today the bus was parked at Whataburger on Bert Kouns near Youree Drive from 9am-3pm. 
    Your generous donations continue to roll in for our Operation A+ Stuff the Bus campaign. Today the bus was parked at Whataburger on Bert Kouns near Youree Drive from 9am-3pm. 
  • Animal abandonment investigation underway in Caddo Parish

    Animal abandonment investigation underway in Caddo Parish

    Wednesday, July 30 2014 4:45 PM EDT2014-07-30 20:45:23 GMT
    Caddo Parish Animal Services is investigating a possible case of animal abandonment in the 1100 block of Prospect St.
    Caddo Parish Animal Services is investigating a possible case of animal abandonment in the 1100 block of Prospect St.
  • Firefighter trials set for December

    Firefighter trials set for December

    Wednesday, July 30 2014 4:18 PM EDT2014-07-30 20:18:28 GMT
    Fire Station 8Fire Station 8
    There's a new development today in the Shreveport Fire Station 8 scandal. The felony cruelty to the infirm trials have been set for December 8.
    There's a new development today in the Shreveport Fire Station 8 scandal. The felony cruelty to the infirm trials have been set for December 8.
Share Your Images
Powered by WorldNow
    Powered by WorldNow
    All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KTBS. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.
    Advertising | EEO Public File | KTBS 3 Public File | KPXJ 21 Public File