Police chief candidateswm

Civil service meeting in August when police chief scores were announced. 

SHREVEPORT, La. – Substitute Police Chief Ben Raymond is not among the three police officers recommended to be the permanent top cop, informed sources tell KTBS.

Instead, the three names an advisory committee submitted Friday to Mayor Adrian Perkins are Sgt. Michael Carter, Assistant Police Chief Wayne Smith and Lt. Tedris Smith.

The committee met today and interviewed the seven candidates for the job. A spokesman for the mayor said Friday morning an announcement would not be made today on their decision.

The vote for Tedris Smith, Wayne Smith and Carter was not unanimous, sources said.

Perkins is not bound by the committee’s recommendation and can choose whomever he wants.

Serving on the advisory committee are Caddo Parish Sheriff Steve Prator, Caddo Parish District Attorney James Stewart, Natchitoches Parish Sheriff Victor Jones, Shreveport City Councilman Jerry Bowman, attorneys Laurie Lyons and Ron Miciotto and retired police officers Jim Taliaferro and E.J. Lewis.

The absence of Raymond from the list is expected to not sit well with the rank-and-file, according to informed sources.

The other candidates include Cpl. Jason Frazier, Sgt. Kevin Strickland and Lt. Janice Dailey.

Raymond scored the highest on the chief’s civil service test. Wayne Smith and Tedris Smith were the bottom two, scoring 86 and 78, respectively. Carter scored 89, which put him third on the list.

Perkins said Tuesday he would name his choice at the Sept. 24 City Council meeting.

Raymond has served in an interim capacity since former Chief Alan Crump took medical leave last year. Crump retired July 31, putting the mayor on a 60-day timeframe to name a permanent chief.


Load comments